Crossfit – Friend or Foe??

OK – Admittedly this the first time I’ve ever really wanted to get on my soapbox and really SCREAM about something.  But this is touching my heart and my passion on such a deep level that I can’t keep my mouth shut and idly sit by.

I’m getting really really tired of all the negativity (social media, as well as closer to home) with Crossfit. Tabata Times has a great Crossfit 2response article to some of the recent negativity that speak so well to what I’m trying to get at.  Read that blog HERE

I don’t care that you don’t like Crossfit or believe in it.  Crossfit is how I’VE managed to improve MY fitness levels, get stronger and have better endurance than ANY other workout I’VE ever done. Yes, I’ve tried the running and training for races – guess what?  I hated it – it became a chore for me –  Something I had to do (And I’m the person who LOVES exercise).  Now Crossfit on the other hand has given ME a true support system, both for enhancing MY fitness and also for finding the accountability to keep going when schedules get tough.

 

Yes – I’ve even gotten injured doing Crossfit (shoulder issues that rest & stretching cured) – but I’ve also gotten injured straight up weight training on my own (pulled hamstring), playing volleyball and basketball (3 knee surgeries from those alone!), running (I twisted my ankle and face-planted in the process -HA!), rollerblading & biking (once again – face-planting on a sidewalk next to a busy street).  Heck I’ve even twisted my ankle walking down stairs (ok – that one is just pure clumsiness!)  Every physically active thing you do sets you up for injury if you don’t pay attention to what you body is feeling or doing – Crossfit isn’t the ONLY culprit.

Carter - 2 Weeks

Hi there!

There are even the articles bashing Crossfitting while pregnant (even exercising in general – calling those women selfish). (Read one here and here and be sure to read comments from those articles as well.)  WOrking out while pregnant is a great thing (if you are cleared by your doc!)- read this article! While I was pregnant with my first child. I did crossfit workouts up until my 9th month (and the only reason I stopped then was because I had TONS of things to complete at work before going out on maternity leave and my workschedule didn’t allow for it).  What people don’t realize is that with ALL workouts, women need to make small changes to their routine, weight and form to accommodate the growing belly and child.  Pregnancy is not a “Get out of Jail Free” card that allows you to sit on your arse and eat bon bons (what are these things anyways??)  Its a time to really get to know your body, what it can do and how it feels.  I didn’t have all those pregnancy “ailments” like swollen feet or aching back. I will also tell you that my labor was not as arduous and traumatizing as some people make it out to be.  Yes, I was in labor for 24 hours, but when it came down to go time – I pushed less then 10 minutes total and I had a very healthy baby boy.  I had an easy & uncomplicated pregnancy and delivery and I completely attribute that to the fact that I did stay physically active for almost the entire time.
I’ve been a personal trainer for 7 years (WOW! Its been that long???) and all I ask as a fitness professional is for you to find what you love to do for exercise and improving your fitness and do it! Don’t go with the flow just because its the trend – what everybody is doing.  Find what speaks to you and excites you and gives you something to look forward to everyday, whether that’s training for a marathon, walking with your family every day, taking Zumba classes or using your exercise DVD’s at home. It really doesn’t matter as long as you are moving and working to improve YOUR health.

regret workoutJust don’t try to make me feel bad for doing what I find fun and enjoyable.

ok…end rant and off my soapbox 🙂

Posted on May 30, 2014, in Emotional, Fitness, Physical, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

