General Health Peer Educator Position

As a peer educator we get the opportunity to impact the lives of students to make a positive change in their life, or maybe just become more aware and knowledgeable about various topics.

Through this position I have learned SO much! From making presentations, brochures, handouts, and other types of flyers, to doing actual presentations in front of people, or at conferences; all these skills will help with my future endeavors. I have learned how to work in an office type space with multiple people, how to communicate ideas within a group, and planning for the “big picture”. When I applied for this job, I had no idea what I was getting myself into, but through hard work and dedication I really saw myself change and reflect what I was researching. Not only do we get the change to change students’ lives, but in the process our own lives may be changed too. I am so thankful to have been given this position, and I can’t wait to apply all this knowledge to my future career and lifestyle choices.

Things I have gained from this position:

  • How to use the different Microsoft Office tools
  • How to work within a unit or team of coworkers
  • What it feels like to work in an office space/cubicle
  • How to do effective research and prepare it for an audience
  • What conferences are like at a college level (they’re really fun and informative, go to them!!)

If I could say something to future peers it would be this:

Take every opportunity you can! If there is a conference, go on it. If there is an event, do it! Be involved in your job, it is an amazing experience! You don’t realize what you have until its gone, appreciate your position and get the most out of it that you can. (:

Lexi Larson, Peer Educator Health & Wellness Hub

About und7d

The University of North Dakota Health & Wellness Unit has built their foundation on 7 Dimensions of Wellness: Physical, Social, Emotional, Environmental, Spiritual, Intellectual, and Occupational.

Posted on February 10, 2014, in Occupational. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

