Gobble til you Wobble?

I ran across this saying while looking for a festive picture this morning and had to laugh. It wasn’t long ago that I lived by that motto throughout the holidays. From the time I woke up to the time my head hit the pillow, I thought about what bar or cookie, side dish, or “main event” I was about to indulge in. I ate until I was ready to burst, and usually had one more bite- JUST to be sure I wouldn’t feel hungry in 10 minutes.

Yikes.

I think about that mentality now, and I just think: Yikes.

Although our society often makes this time of year about the food, the expanding waistlines, the food comas, and the once-a-year delicacies we are about to indulge in… I challenge you to do a little reframing this year. For me, Holidays have become more about the togetherness, the fun traditions (like digging out my “Festive” Thanksgiving sweater vest), and love of others, rather than the food on my plate. Don’t get me wrong- I have my favorite foods that I enjoy as well, but now I try harder to concentrate on the conversation rather than the fork-to-mouth ratio.

One of my favorite things is now a bundled up brisk walk around the block with my aunts and cousins mid-afternoon. I know, it sounds crazy when you consider the temperature and quite often the wind, but it’s a great way to catch up with each other, get energized and burn off some of those extra almond bark pretzels I’ve enjoyed.

I want to hear from YOU!
Have you made any changes to the way you approach the Holiday season? How do you stay on track?

Image

About fixedonfood

I empower women to overcome food obsessions with sensible solutions based on personal experience.

Posted on November 25, 2013, in Emotional, Environmental, Social, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

