The Labyrinth

Dimension: Occupational
Activity: Wellness Expo (Labyrinth in the Group Exercise Room)
Date: 2/27 12-5pm

This event was one of the last events that we could attend and therefore it was a free event where we could pick any wristband we wanted. I chose occupational because I could not attend any of the occupational events available. I was a little disappointed to see that there were not more options for the occupational wristband. I would have really liked to see some events with career services, such as their resume and cover letter writing presentations.

When I saw that this event was a labyrinth I had no idea what to expect. I knew what a labyrinth was, but I didn’t know if we would be doing one on paper or if they would have an obstacle course set up for one. When we got there I was very intrigued. The labyrinth was a large mat where you just followed the lines. The lady explained that the labyrinth is an ancient symbol of spiritual journey. I had no idea that they had a spiritual purpose, that was a complete shock to me. She said that the walking the labyrinth could help to focus our minds on God or prayers. It can be as simple as to just help untangle a problem that may seem difficult by making it more clear as you walk. She said others find new insights during the walk. When I walked I just cleared my mind and tried to relax and shed all the stress from school. I do have to say that it was very relaxing and I definitely want to check out the small labyrinth in the quiet space at the Wellness Center.

Posted on March 6, 2013, in Altru's Pursuit of Wellness, Interfaith Week, Occupational, Spiritual and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

