The Zen Den at the Wellness Center

Dimension: Spiritual
Activity:  Try Out the New Zen Den
Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 7:00 PM

The activity was to try the new Zen Den. I had peeked in the Zen Den last semester, and I intended to make use of it, but I never did. On Saturday, I spent most of the day reading and studying. In the afternoon, I had to get out of the apartment. The only door I could open on my car was the passenger’s side back door. I crawled into the car, and I punched and kicked the other three doors open from the inside. I got in the car and started it, but I couldn’t close my door. The door kept bouncing off the car. When I went to the nearby Loaf N Jug, I found that they had no de-icer. Thankfully, I live on campus, and the Wellness Center is nearby. I enjoy running on the indoor track. Even though the exercise is therapeutic, it also gives me too much time to think about the assignments I have to complete as a student and the lessons I have to develop as a GTA. After my workout and a shower, I sat in the Zen Den. At first, I was restless. I didn’t want to stay long, because I had so much to do. However, I made myself stay. The lighting, the comfortable chair, and the quiet setting helped me to relax and to calm the thoughts that had been racing through my mind. I intend to make more use of the Zen Den this semester.

Posted on January 28, 2013, in Altru's Pursuit of Wellness, Seven Dimensions of Wellness, Spiritual. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

