You Have the Power

You hold incredible power… Super powers.

You have the ability to make a difference in your life and the lives of others and in your environment.

Have you ever stopped to think about how powerful you truly are?
Take a minute. Think about it.

I’ll never forget when one professor said during a class at UND: “No one cares what you did in high school.” I was floored, and I let him know it! (He still reminds me every time he sees me.) His point was that we cannot accept a position on the sidelines: we have to participate in life.

By being involved in things, you are enhancing your life. Volunteering is good for mental health- you feel valuable, build self-esteem and self-confidence, and strengthen your skill set. It’s a great way to meet new people and develop on that network that is vital for success. You make a difference. 

Now that I’ve been out of college for a few years, I get it. I see the importance the employers put on being involved- especially in your community. I see how it weighs in on hiring decisions. It matters. And you really do yourself a favor by starting early- there are a million things to join on campus. Some are one-time efforts, while others might keep you busy all year around. There are also an abundance of opportunities in the community. I hear about them every day!

I am fortunate to work for the Greater Grand Forks Young Professionals, a group of 20-40 somethings that works hard to attract and retain young talent in the Grand Cities area. As I reflect over the past year, I’m almost overwhelmed by the incredible progress that we’ve made in the community. And all because people SHOW UP– giving of their time and energy.

When I was younger, I was involved in things because:
1. my friends were or
2.because my parents made me.

It was rarely a choice. Mom always said, “You’ll thank me some day.” 
She was right. Thank you, Mom.

About fixedonfood

I empower women to overcome food obsessions with sensible solutions based on personal experience.

Posted on September 11, 2012, in Environmental, Occupational, Social and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I am really grateful to you for writing this post. Its true that people sometimes don’t realize the importance of being involved in activities; could be school, college or at work. It took me a while to realize its importance while I was back in high school, now that I’m in college I’ve made it a point to keep me self out there – involved in different activities and organizations. I hope your post would be an awesome eye opener to many people, and convince themselves that they are never too late to be getting involved 🙂

  2. That is very true. Most of my friends that I made in college were through student organizations on campus and some of them joined the organization when they were 30 years old. You are never too old or too young to make a difference. No matter how busy you are with school and work being able to impact someone’s life is the ultimate reward. Thanks for posting and inspiring people to get involved!

Leave a Reply

