NDMoA: The Birds

Dimension: Intellectual

Activity: Visit the ND Museum of Art

Saturday, January 28th at 3:00 PM

The activity was to visit the ND Museum of Art to visit the winged shadows life among birds exhibit.
This was just a right nudge for me to visit ND Museum for the first time in my second year here at
UND. Since, the only reasonable meaning that I could draw from the exhibition’s title was birds; I did
not have many expectations besides the fact that I will be seeing things related to birds. I was right!
The exhibition was filled with photographs and paintings of different kind of birds. The first thing that
caught my eyes was this magnificent white thing which resembled a dress which I later found out to be
a bird’s nest. Various paintings of Kingfisher trying to eat “heartless” fisherman were trying to convey
the message of Karmic cycle. My personal favorites were Rebecca Norris-Webb’s “Havana, Cuba” and
Walton Ford’s “ Swadeshi – Cide”. The little notes on Walton Ford’s paintings were another fun thing
to read while admiring his paintings. While visiting this exhibition I had no thoughts expect of the birds
in the paintings. This helped me unwind and provided me with an opportunity to learn little more about
various birds.

Posted on February 7, 2012, in Altru's Pursuit of Wellness, Environmental, Intellectual, Seven Dimensions of Wellness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

