the HARDEST part

I was at the gym today, nearing the end of my workout and DEEP in thought. (Exercising does that to me. If I could have an automatic translator running from my brain to a computer, I would’ve filled libraries by now. That has always been an incentive for me to get my sweat on.)

Anyway. I was thinking about how many excuses I come up with for not working out…  And then I also thought about how easy it is to replace those lame thoughts with something more encouraging and inspiring.

Here is my  list, starting with the idea of a morning workout:

  1. I have to wake up way too early, and I didn’t go to bed early enough.
  2. I don’t have enough energy in the morning to get a good workout.
  3. It’s WAY too cold to go out and drive to a gym.
  4. I won’t have enough time to get ready for work.

I’ve always been a person who has said, “working out in the morning will NOT work for me.” That is, until I was a part of a smaller gym at the start of  the New Year, when the resolutions kick in and EVERYONE goes to the gym at precisely the same time. I became a morning workout person out of necessity. So, yes, it CAN be done.Here’s how I overcame all of those things:

  1. You will adjust to a new sleep schedule. It won’t take too many nights of lacking sleep before you figure out how to GO TO BED EARLIER. (ya I know, I sound like your mom)
  2. Eat something little on your way to the gym- toast with peanut butter or an apple or a granola bar to help get you going. Once you start moving, your energy level will kick in. I read in a magazine article that you should eat about 1/2 hour before working out. All I could think was, “What?! Wake up even EARLIER just to eat so I can work out?! NO WAY.” I grabbed something to eat on the way to the gym and it worked fine. (Clarification: “something” includes the list of foods previously mentioned; a piece of chocolate or a cookie is not a wise choice)
  3. Ok, here’s a good system: First of all, sleep in your gym clothes, or put them right by your bed so you can literally stumble into them with as little effort as possible. Next, put your car starter button RIGHT by your bed. When your alarm goes off, press the button. Now you HAVE to get up. And when you get outside, I guarantee you’ll wake up real quick. And move quick, too. 🙂
  4. Set your alarm earlier. Duh.

Now, how about after work/school/whatever else consumes the majority of your day? Let the excuses… COMMENCE:

  1. I am hungry after work.
  2. I like to just go home and relax after work.
  3. I eat too much for supper, which leaves me in NO shape to be moving quickly.
  4. Once I get home, I stay home, especially in the winter.
  5. If I exercise too late at night it’ll keep me up all night.

Been there, done that. All of it. And here’s what I learned:

  1. Pack a snack to eat as you’re heading to the gym. OR go home, but only after you’ve made a pact with yourself to leave at a certain time.
  2. Again, it’s fine to do that. BUT you need to set your alarm with the time you’ll be heading to the gym. And NO backing out!
  3. Hmm… sounds like you need to lighten up. Maybe eat a little before and a little after. That’s how I do it.
  4. DON’T GO HOME!!!! Or, find a way to work out AT home. (I found this really fun dancing DVD at a rummage sale for $1 this summer, and in my living room I’m the MASTER of the dance floor!)
  5. Work out, but make sure you stretch for awhile when you’re done to bring your heart rate way down. There have literally been times when I’ve almost fallen asleep while “stretching.”

Look, I’ve lost 130 pounds. No surgery involved. Just a lot of hard work. So pretty much ANY excuse you can think of I’ve managed to use myself. Seriously; try me.

The best part of actually GOING to work out is the AWESOMENESS you feel when you’re all done.  So do yourself a favor and get there.

About fixedonfood

I empower women to overcome food obsessions with sensible solutions based on personal experience.

Posted on December 15, 2011, in Emotional, Environmental, Physical, Social and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

