Brick Wall Reminders

Finals are just around the corner, and even though I’ve graduated from college already, I still have nightmares of the last push to Christmas break occasionally.

The truth is, no matter what stage of life we find ourselves in, it’s important to remember that we have limits, and we must act accordingly.

Remember when I told you that I recently moved back for a new job and new adventure?  I still love being back in Grand Forks. And I still love what I get to do at my job every day… but I recently learned that there are moments when I might fall off Cloud 9.

http://www.google.com/imgres?q=clouds&hl=en&client=safari&sa=X&rls=en&biw=725&bih=591&tbm=isch&prmd=imvns&tbnid=C-jNqCXv6gYIqM:&imgrefurl=http://www.atpm.com/11.03/clouds/clouds-6.shtml&docid=xSz0GSvKpyu81M&imgurl=http://www.atpm.com/11.03/clouds/images/clouds-6.jpg&w=2240&h=1488&ei=XQzTTsSQA4nj0QHZtrwu&zoom=1&iact=hc&vpx=195&vpy=263&dur=2493&hovh=131&hovw=198&tx=106&ty=76&sig=101281852028619836808&page=17&tbnh=105&tbnw=157&start=194&ndsp=12&ved=1t:429,r:1,s:194

For the most part, my job keeps me very, very busy. And because I love what I do, I think about it… almost all of the time. And because I’m a very “do it now and get it done” kind of person, I catch myself even sending emails in my sleep. The truth is, it doesn’t bother me… or so I thought.

Ever since my accident, I’ve started a downhill-spiral-caught-in-a-snowball-toward-a-tree kind of thing. It wasn’t necessarily that terrible, horrible, no good, very bad things kept happening to me, I was just extra sensitive to the every day things that just sort of “happen.” Because I was busy reacting, my head was in a fog, and I started to just numbly coast toward Thanksgiving.

I was working out last Monday. A meeting went later than expected, so I missed a class I wanted to attend (another layer on the snowball). I decided to do some running/walking around the track… and the running part felt so good: I was FREE! Eventually I finished and started stretching. When I stopped, my racing mind caught up with me, and… so did the tears. Luckily I was sweating enough that the tears weren’t too noticeable (at least in my own mind). But as soon as I went outside into the fresh air it hit me like a ton of bricks.

http://www.google.com/imgres?q=bricks&hl=en&gbv=2&biw=775&bih=655&tbm=isch&tbnid=fcK1BfKdDs41lM:&imgrefurl=http://www.psd-dude.com/tutorials/resources/beautiful-brick-textures-collection.aspx&docid=FQoqOQc9Ahg7FM&imgurl=http://www.psd-dude.com/tutorials/resources-images/beautiful-brick-textures-collection/bricks.jpg&w=599&h=400&ei=jAvTTubmJeX10gGyv733Dw&zoom=1&iact=hc&vpx=512&vpy=256&dur=1262&hovh=132&hovw=197&tx=117&ty=84&sig=101281852028619836808&page=9&tbnh=130&tbnw=144&start=81&ndsp=11&ved=1t:429,r:10,s:81

I’m not sure what “it” was, but it made breathing difficult. So I did what every daughter in distress does: call home. I talked to my dad about the Sing-Off, the weather, the upcoming vacation, and just about anything else that he could think of to distract me. Eventually that suffocating feeling passed, but sleep was the furthest thing from my mind.

I made it to the long weekend, and “home.” I slept 2-3 times longer than I had in weeks, turned off my phone, and laughed with loved ones. I ate good food (but not until I was sick), made sure I snuck in physical activity at least once a day, helped Christmas puke all over our house come alive through decorations, and enjoyed the simplicity of life for a few days.

As I was driving back at the end of the long weekend, I started to think about what led me to those tears while I was stretching. The truth is, I was trying to do too much. The lack of focus resulted from trying to think of too many things. I was so busy trying to be one step ahead I was tripping over the imaginary hurdles right in front of me.  I hit my brick wall of reality.

WORKINGSPIRIT wrote about the importance of slowing down a few weeks ago, and I just have to say “ditto.” After a few days of slowing down, I feel refreshed and ready for the week ahead- finally.

As you approach the finish line- whether it’s in the form of tests, papers, projects, meetings, tasks, or anything else that is in front of you, make sure that you take care of yourself and pay attention to what you need. Set aside one hour to hit the Wellness Center for some activity; it will leave you feeling refreshed, happier, less stressed, and and sleeping better. Even though you’re surrounded by some pretty amazing(ly rich) foods, enjoy them in moderation; healthier choices  give you energy, make you feel better about yourself, and sleep better too. Sleep enough– 7 to 8 hours at least every night- that means you may have to make a schedule and stick to it. Being tired won’t help your thought process. Know that it’s OK to talk to someone if you need too (being honest with loved ones helps me tremendously).

Although You are pretty darn amazing, it’s good to know your limits and respect yourself by respecting those boundaries.

Best of luck as you enter the week (and the challenges) ahead!

About fixedonfood

I empower women to overcome food obsessions with sensible solutions based on personal experience.

Posted on November 27, 2011, in Emotional, Environmental, Intellectual, Occupational, Physical, Social, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

