Secret Weapon

Ever since last week, I’ve been burning up… with a fever to ZUMBA! That is the funnest “workout” I’ve done- may be ever.

I was disappointed knowing I would have to figure out a way to workout for 4 whole days by myself starting last Thursday. And this morning, I jumped out of bed excited for Zumba classes to FINALLY happen again! A busy day of meetings and a really wet snowfall didn’t even phase my one-track mind.

Now, earlier today someone had given me a FREE ticket to a holiday show (aka all you can eat, drink, and be merry for) tonight, which I was going to plan to carefully squeeze in between a meeting and the class. Due to the before-mentioned snowfall that turned almost immediately to ice, I had to make a choice: feasting or dancing.

Zumba won. After all, I got new shoes JUST for that purpose this weekend (to help with the blisters), and they were begging to be used:

 

 

 

I skated to the Wellness Center, and was bummed to find out that the class was cancelled due to illness. REALLY bummed. (There’s something about winter that makes working out so-much-more-difficult.)

Since I was already there I decided to stay and workout. And my attention span was about as long as… a goldfish’s. 10 minutes felt like 10 hours.

In moments like this, it’s important that you have a SECRET WEAPON. Mine? A group of songs that will keep me going with a little extra pep in my step pretty much without fail. Literally.

As a matter of fact, I’ve been spotted on numerous occasions dancing down the sidewalk or hallway while listening to the “said” songs. (And when people pass me I just try to pass it off as a limp.)

What keeps you going during your workout?

About fixedonfood

I empower women to overcome food obsessions with sensible solutions based on personal experience.

Posted on November 15, 2011, in Emotional, Environmental, Physical, Social and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Love the new kicks! AND – we match! I have Nike pair in a similar color. Let me know when we should join aqua forces!

Leave a Reply

