Oh… Monday.

Let me tell you about my Monday.

Well, let’s start with Sunday night. I decided that I was going to wake up and make one positive change: eat breakfast. Now, even though I’m a Registered Dietitian, I willingly admit that I’m NOT a breakfast eater unless it’s a Diet Coke and a mushy apple.

Even though I didn’t feel very hungry, I made sure to leave my apartment with a turkey sandwich with ketchup (yup… ketchup). Not long after, my patience and willpower were tested at a consistent rate. It all started when I got to work and realized that a piece of my computer equipment disappeared during a recent remodel. Then a website would not work that I needed (yay deadlines!). I decided to work on the website in a new location with a fresh mind and a different server, and ended up getting my first EVER parking ticket. Oh, and then I went to a lunch meeting and had computer issues. By that time, I needed a kickboxing class or a bag of cookies. I was on the verge of:

A)Crawling in a hole and crying.

B)Eating every last piece of pie on the dessert table. (Did I mention that one of the people in this organization knew me and decided to continuously lead me over to the pie table to “help me out?”)

During the meeting we sang the “Smile Song,” which may be my life’s soundtrack, and I decided that from then on out my day would improve.

  • The presentation went really well.
  • I didn’t eat all of the pie. (Wahoo!)
  • I figured out how to get the ticket revoked.
  • People smiled at me. And made me laugh.
In celebration of my successful afternoon, I decided to try something new. I took Cardio/Yoga fusion (*mad props* to the instructor). Usually I RUN from anything with “yoga” or “pilates” in the title. But because the afternoon was successful, I decided to give it a shot…
AND I MADE IT THROUGH THE WHOLE CLASS!! I’m far from a ballet dancer or a gymnast, but with the support and encouragement of the other people in the class, I survived.
Just like my Monday.
And you know what? I’ll probably go back.
Were there any hurdles you faced and overcame in a healthy way today?
About fixedonfood

I empower women to overcome food obsessions with sensible solutions based on personal experience.

Posted on November 7, 2011, in Emotional, Environmental, Occupational, Physical, Social and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Indeed a Monday it was! Mine started out very similar to yours…. worked out at the Wellness Center in the morning and realized I forgot a brush – had snarly, wet hair for most of the morning before I was able to find something to tame down the look a bit. However, I still plowed through my day and was able to take in an amazing presentation from Dr. Bernard Franklin and also made it to one of the H&W Student’s art exhibition at the Hughes Fine Arts Center….it ended up an a fantastic day!

Leave a Reply

